Donné enjoys teaching and incorporating creativity into her lessons.

1. First, tell us a little about you.

I have been a teacher for almost 8 years, 3 years of which have been spent teaching English at Cape Studies. Before I moved to Cape Town in 2014, I lived in the Eastern Cape, which is the province I grew up in. Although this is a very beautiful area of South Africa, I have now made Cape Town my home, as I absolutely love the city and couldn’t imagine living anywhere else.

I have a variety of interests, including travelling, writing, languages and the arts, like film, theatre and music.

I see myself as quite a creative person and I love incorporating that creativity into my lessons.

2. What inspired you to get into teaching?

I have always been attracted to the idea of self-improvement. So, helping other people develop themselves, or achieve their goals really appeals to me. I first got into teaching in 2009, while I was travelling around the United Kingdom. Teaching provides me the perfect opportunity to help students achieve their own language goals, while working with them to develop and improve their skills.

3.Can you share a competitive advantage Cape Studies has over other language schools in Cape Town?

Firstly, the fact that there are a maximum of 8 people per class definitely gives Cape Studies a competitive advantage. This means that students receive personal attention from their teachers. Secondly, the school has a friendly and homely atmosphere, which is very appealing to students who are far away from their own homes.

4. In what ways do you encourage creativity in the classroom?

In my opinion, one of the most important aspects of learning English is becoming comfortable with using the language. This often means pushing through difficult barriers like shyness and the fear of making mistakes. Creativity helps to overcome these obstacles, so, I try to encourage it in the classroom as much as possible. This can be in the form of creative writing, storytelling, speaking activities or games.

5. Tell us about your typical teaching day at Cape Studies.

My day usually starts with a 9am grammar lesson. I love teaching grammar as I enjoy explaining sometimes complicated concepts in an easy-to-understand way. After that, there is a skills lesson, where we develop the students’ practical use of English: reading, writing, listening and speaking. I finish off my day with an afternoon class, which is usually a conversation lesson, or sometimes I teach an exam preparation course.

DONNE

To learn more about Cape Studies, please visit http://www.CapeStudies.com or email Learn@CapeStudies.com.

Leave a Reply

