Laura enjoys teaching Beginner and Elementary levels.

Laura enjoys being back in South Africa and teaching at Cape Studies.

LAURA

  1. Tell us a bit about yourself

After teaching in South Korea I am back living in South Africa and loving it. I love the excitement of exploring a place for the first time, meeting fascinating people, and learning about unfamiliar cultures. From a young age my family and I would journey down the coast of South Africa, I treasure these memories dearly and this fostered within me a desire to continue to travel, not only within South Africa but throughout the rest of the world. My adventures in Asia have been some of the best experiences of my life, the amazing people and rich culture is something that has enriched my life greatly.

  1. How did you get started?

After completing my BA degree in my favourite subject, English Literature and Language, I went on to complete a TEFL course which equipped me to teach abroad.  I was really excited on my return to South Africa to find a school where I could unite my passion for people and places with my teaching career.

  1. What is the biggest misconception people have about South Africa?

I think the biggest misconception people have about South Africa is that it is a dangerous travelling destination and that there is no diversity. South Africa is filled with diversity and is a wonderful travelling destination- follow the advice of the locals. It is no more dangerous than travelling to any big cities like London, New York or Berlin. One has to be careful with their personal belongings as they would in their home country and not venture alone at night in unfavourable neighbourhoods.

  1. What do you find to be the most rewarding thing about teaching at Cape Studies?

What I find most rewarding about working at Cape Studies are the close relationships you are able to build with each student, as well as being able to help students reach their goals in the classroom. Cape Studies promotes a friendly environment for its staff and students, making everyone feel part of the family.

  1. What level do you prefer teaching and why?

I love teaching Beginners and Elementaries as the students tend to be really enthusiastic and motivated to learn. It is also extremely rewarding to witness their progress while they are studying at Cape Studies.

To learn more about Cape Studies, please visit http://www.CapeStudies.com or email Learn@CapeStudies.com.

Leave a Reply

