Kogie says that Cape Studies is her second home and believes Cape Town is undoubtedly a magnificent city.

KOGIE

1. Tell us about you.

I was born and lived in Durban for most of my life. I completed my schooling and university there, where I completed my teaching diploma. It was when I moved to Cape Town in 2002 that I decided to move to the ESL industry, after completing my CELTA, I began teaching at Cape Studies.

I have 3 married children and I enjoy spending time with them whenever I can. I count my hobbies as reading biographies, reading fashion journals, cooking and dining with good friends.

2. Why do you enjoy working at Cape Studies?

After these many years of teaching at Cape Studies, this school has become my second home. The school operates like a smooth machine and I love working here. I impart knowledge but at the same time learn something from my students too.

3. What advice would you give to someone who wants to become an ESL teacher?

You must have a genuine interest in teaching as it requires a lot of preparation and planning. Focus on your goals and learn from the best, do a course, I would highly recommend  CELTA over TEFL. Teaching in the ESL industry is very different to teaching at a high school, but the CELTA will teach you how to cope and handle the different aspects of teaching a grammar lessons and coping with the different levels. Lastly, preparation is key to an enjoyable and fulfilling day.

4. What do you love most about your job?

There are so many things I love about teaching. It affords me the opportunity to meet new people and make friends. Cape studies has a high rate of returning students and I love to welcome them back and they love to be recognised. To them it makes a huge difference.

5. What do you say to people who underestimate Cape Town as an English language study destination?

Cape Town is undoubtedly a beautiful city. It offers great cuisine, good wines, some of the most amazing wildlife and picturesque beaches. Let’s not forget the iconic Table mountain and Lions Head. Testimony to this are students who come back to Cape Town time and time again. Cape Town as a study destination is certainly not second best, it is the best!

To learn more about Cape Studies, please visit http://www.CapeStudies.com or email Learn@CapeStudies.com.

Leave a Reply

